x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • GOLF Originals
      • Seen & Heard
      • Breakthrough
      • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Shaving Strokes
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Proving Ground
      • Firsthand With A Fitter
      • Winner’s Bag
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Proving Ground
    • Firsthand With A Fitter
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • GOLF Originals
    • Seen & Heard
    • Breakthrough
    • Kostis & McCord: Off Their Rockers
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Shaving Strokes
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • Golf Staff Picks
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now / Log In
InsideGolf

InsideGOLF Holiday Bonus

FREE GOLF HAT
Rules

Rules Guy: How much of the ball needs to be in the cup to be considered holed?

By: Rules Guy
December 4, 2024
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf ball resting against pin and about to drop into hole

What do the rules say about when exactly a ball is considered holed?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Par-3, very wet day, my ball flew into the hole — but upon reaching the green, I saw it was, in fact, entirely buried on the back edge of the cup. The ball must have flown into the hole above the cup liner, which was set two inches below the hole’s rim. I claimed an ace, certain that the ball had entered the hole and was below the putting surface. My friend disagreed, saying it wasn’t resting in the bottom of the cup. Who’s right? —Brad Middleton, Issaquah, Wash.

Let’s clarify one thing: Starting in January 2023, what was called “Interpretations” are now, yes, “Clarifications.” So please see “Clarifications: Holed/1.”

Your buddy’s argument, unlike the ground, doesn’t hold water: There are several instances covered by the Rules where the ball isn’t completely at the bottom of the cup or totally at rest and is still considered holed. You can claim an ace if (and only if) all the ball is below the surface and embedded in the side of the hole.

Now go buy him a drink.

For more hole-in-one-or-not guidance from our guru, read on …

Rules
Is it a hole-in-one if a ball hits a modified hole and bounces out? Rules Guy
By: Rules Guy

A member at our club made an ace, then called a penalty on himself, claiming he teed the ball ahead of the marker. All this to avoid paying for drinks after the round, when tabs have reached $2,000. Was this legal? —John Karam, St. Petersburg, Fla.

The thrill of victory and the agony of… the bar tab.

Let’s say this occurred in match play. Under Rule 6.1b, which covers playing from inside the teeing area, the opponent gets to choose whether to cancel Mr. Cheap Ace’s stroke, so if that opponent prefers a free drink and losing the hole, so be it — don’t cancel the stroke and the hole-in-one stands.

In stroke play, once the player has called the penalty on himself, he gets two penalty strokes — but remember, the stroke into the hole now doesn’t count and the player has to correct the mistake by playing from within the teeing area (as opposed to “That’s a 1 with a 2-stroke penalty for a 3”).

If he doesn’t correct the mistake, he’s disqualified. Some might argue that a player calling a penalty to gain an advantage is antithetical to golf’s spirit, and the Committee could go the DQ route via serious misconduct under Rule 1.2a.

But the game of golf assumes honorable golfers and takes them at their word, unless there’s hard evidence to the contrary. Suspicions aren’t facts, and the “advantage” here is purely financial, not competitive — quite the contrary, since he has cost himself strokes. Maybe it seems a bit naive, but Rules Guy, for one, prefers it that way, even if it means paying for his own single-malt Scotch at the 19th hole.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Latest In Instruction

13 minutes ago

Jack Nicklaus reveals the secrets to fearless putting

10 hours ago

A clever way to learn about your swing without a launch monitor

1 day ago

Save $50 on this Scottie Scheffler-approved fitness trainer

2 days ago

Peter Kostis has 'controversial' opinion on where power *really* comes from

generic profile image

Golf.com

Related Articles

Rules
golfer removing golf ball from hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap down grass around the hole before putting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
OB stake

Rules Guy: Can you play a ball that goes OB, but is in-bounds on another hole?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golf ball in the sand trap. No people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test bunker depth before hitting?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfer places ball on tee preparing for a driver shot.

Rules Guy: When playing winter rules, can you tee up your ball on loose impediments?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
LPGA golfer Jennifer Kupcho tosses her ball to her caddie on the 2nd green on June 17, 2022 during the Meijer LPGA Classic For Simply Give at the Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Rules Guy: After marking a ball, can you have your caddie replace it?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
US golfer Tony Finau marks his ball's location during his fourball match on the second day of the 42nd Ryder Cup at Le Golf National Course at Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, south-west of Paris, on September 29, 2018.

Rules Guy: Are you allowed to touch your ball after picking up your mark?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland after his ball is wedged against a rake on the 16th hole during day one of the Dubai Duty Free Irish Open Golf Championship at Mount Juliet Golf Club in Thomastown, Kilkenny.

Rules Guy: My ball is lodged against a bunker rake. What now?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Man beside hedge preparing to hit golf ball, head obscured

Rules Guy: An OB stake is hindering my swing. Can I move it without penalty?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Cameron Young of the United States plays a shot left handed from under a tree on the 6th during the final round of the Hero Dubai Desert Classic at Emirates Golf Club on January 21, 2024 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Rules Guy: If you're a right-handed, is it legal to carry a left-handed club?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2024 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved.